AFVS Senior Prizes 2022

May 12, 2022


The Department of Art, Film, and Visual Studies congratulates the following AFVS students recognized for their outstanding work with the following awards:



Council Prize in Visual Arts... awarded by the Office for the Arts for outstanding work by a Harvard undergraduate in the field of visual arts.

Awarded to Treasure Brooks ‘22 and Tiff Rekem ‘21-22


Thomas Temple Hoopes Prize... awarded by the College to undergraduates on the basis of outstanding scholarly work or research, and named for Thomas T. Hoopes, class of 1919, who directed that the prizes be given for the purpose of “promoting, improving and enhancing the quality of education ... in literary, artistic, musical, scientific, historical or other academic subjects ... under faculty supervision and instruction ... [and] promoting excellence in the art of teaching.”

Awarded to Tiff Rekem ‘21-22


Sydney M. Williams Jr. Traveling Fund for Visual Art… this fund supports students who make original works of visual art while traveling outside the United States. Recipients are chosen through a collaboration between the Office for the Arts, the Department of Art, Film, and Visual Studies, and Harvard University Art Museums under the aegis of its Curator of Contemporary Art.

Awarded to Bhargavi Garimella ‘23 and Kiana Rawji ‘23


AFVS Departmental Prizes:

Albert Alcalay Prize … established by artist Albert Alcalay, former Faculty member of the Department of Visual and Environmental Studies, in 1986 to be awarded to the best student in Visual and Environmental Studies workshop studios as judged by a departmental committee of painting, sculpture, and drawing Faculty.

Awarded to Eva Rosenfeld ‘21-22


Rudolf Arnheim Prize … established in 1974 by Rudolf Arnheim upon his retirement as Professor of the Psychology of Art, for the most outstanding project that achieves excellence through interdisciplinary effort or to the project which demonstrates excellence in scholarly research integrated with visual communication.

Awarded to Griffin Andres ‘22 and Treasure Brooks ‘22


Chris Killip Prize … established in 2019 to commemorate the work and service of photographer Chris Killip, former Professor of Visual and Environmental Studies; awarded for work in lens-based media, including but not limited to photography, film and video.

Awarded to Ben Ades ‘21-22